National Museum of the Republic of North Ossetia-Alania
The Museum of the Tersk Region was founded in 1893 at the initiative of representatives of the intelligentsia of Vladikavkaz, which at that time was the center of lively archaeological activity due to the discovery of the famous Koban burial ground with unique bronze objects that formed the basis of the museum collection.
The museum was opened in the premises of the Regional Statistical Committee with the donations collected by subscription. In 1907, a special building was built for the Museum, but it has repeatedly changed its address and is currently located in a 2-storey mansion of a prominent businessman Khodyakov built at the beginning of the 20th century and adapted for a museum.
There are unique archaeological items, rare specimens of Caucasian and Eastern weapons, and a rich photographic fund in the museum collection. Currently, the structure of the museum includes the Main museum and 12 branches.